Still optimistic, but realistic

January 2, 2017

By Bob Cox

Some opinions, comments and links relating to what is happening in this great nation and, in particular, in Western Colorado.

Welcome to a new year. I seriously thought about giving up on this effort to express my opinions and try to keep in touch with what is going on in the world around me. I want to thank those of you who encouraged me to continue.

Sometimes, when I sit down to compose a paragraph or two about what I think about this or that, the topic literally changes as I write. Sometimes a thought will provoke absolute disdain for what some people are trying to do to a great nation. Other times I realize that deep down I am an optimist. I know this country will survive.

I am still somewhat stunned with the fact that this last election cycle turned out the way it did. I am also encouraged that the Electoral College system put into place so many years ago actually works. This past year demonstrated dramatically just what could happen if a few states with large populations could gain control of our national government.

For those of us who reside on the Western Slope of Colorado, we understand well how population centers get more of what they want, rather than what they are actually entitled to. We must remain vigilant in our selection of representatives and maintain the representative republic that has worked so well.

I remain a little concerned over some of the new laws we will have to live under as of yesterday. The one that concerns me most is the increase in minimum wage. The voters approved a constitutional hike to gradually raise the wage to $12 an hour in increments from now until 2020. For this year the wage goes from $8.31 to $9.30. I cannot help but think this has to hurt small businesses, at least in the short term, but it does something else. It gives unions and non-minimum wage earners an excuse to demand higher wages, and believe me that will happen.

Now, I am not against every new law. I think some of them are practical, although I understand why there are some people, even some of my friends, who disagree.

The new law that allows grocery stores to sell full strength beer and liquor is complicated to say the least, but I think it will work out okay. I remember the days in Colorado when someone 18 years old could buy beer that had “not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight.” When Colorado decided to repeal that law, they left the archaic idea of 3.2 beer hanging, allowing grocery stores to sell only 3.2 beer. Breweries were caught in the middle, having to continue to produce the product.

I could go on forever commenting on why the repeal of the law allowing 18-year-olds to purchase beer never accomplished the stated goals, but for now I will say that I will probably continue to go to my favorite liquor stores and now and then I will probably pick up a six-pack with my groceries, so personally, I am not upset about that new law.

Another law that goes into effect is the law concerning personnel files. The law makes it easier for employees to view their personnel files. It is sad, in my opinion, that this law is even needed. I have always thought that we all have the right to be told and shown what are in those files. It should be no different than a credit report. If there are things in there that are not accurate, we should have the opportunity to correct or dispute those things.

All in all, I am still the optimist. I look forward to this next year with a renewed sense of that optimism. I hope all of you share that with me.

Remember, I only send out these missives by email to those who have asked for them. I do not share your email addresses with anyone and I use the Reagan email precisely because they don’t share or sell the addresses either. If you are getting this because someone forwarded it to you and you don’t want it, tell him or her not to forward any more. On the other hand, if you received a copy and would like to see more of my ranting, simply drop me a line at coxnotes@Reagan.com I will put you on my exclusive, but growing list.

 

Bob

 

© Robert R. Cox 2017

 

 

Leave a Reply

