We need to know the facts

July 11, 2016

By Bob Cox

Some opinions, comments and links relating to what is happening in this great nation and, in particular, in Western Colorado.

 

On the wall behind me is a shadow box frame that displays various memorabilia from my days as a law enforcement officer. While I only served in two sheriff’s offices, I also served on three different task forces made up of officers from several other agencies. As such, I carried credentials from other agencies, including the Colorado Bureau of Investigation and the Drug Enforcement Administration. I also had “special deputy” status from a number of sheriff’s from around Colorado.

 

I have been out of the law enforcement game for as many years as I was in it, but I still have a special sense of brotherhood with those who are employed today. I do not know many of them personally, nor do I need to. I know that times are different now than they were 20-plus years ago. I know that I probably do not understand all the nuances of today’s officers, but I still believe I understand enough to know they are in a very difficult position.

 

I knew people who carried a badge that probably should not have been carrying one. I knew a couple of bad cops. I knew a hell of a lot more that were very dedicated to their profession, and when I see that five police officers were gunned down in the streets of Dallas, I know that the odds are that they were among those dedicated to doing right by the citizens of Dallas.

 

When I see the organized efforts of people involved in Black Lives Matter and in the (New) Black Panthers to belittle, degrade and even murder police officers, it makes me physically sick.

 

When I see various news sources describe black people killed by officers as part of a “body count,” and see those same news sources describe the killing of five white police officers as “a shooting following a peaceful protest,” I have to wonder who are the real racists.

 

When I see the president of the United States jump to conclusions every time a black man is killed by a police officer, and never mention the carnage taking place in the inner cities of places like New York and Chicago, I have to wonder who is the real racist.

 

When I see the attorney general of the United States literally mandating the policies of local law enforcement as it relates to their treatment of people of color and open civil rights investigations when a white officer kills a black person, but not even mention civil rights when the tables are turned, I have to ask, “Who is the real racist?”

 

Last April Heather MacDonald gave a speech at Hillsdale College. The text was printed in the college’s Imprimis newsletter, which I get a copy of each month.

 

MacDonald pointed out how the statistics of fatal police shootings are manipulated by those who have an agenda. Now, MacDonald likely has an agenda too, but I happen to believe she is an amazing author and speaker. She has a B.A. from Yale, an M.A. in English from Cambridge University and a J.D from Stanford Law School, so her credentials are very impressive. Immediately following the first and often slanted coverage of the Dallas shootings, I went looking for my copy of the April Imprimis. It can still be found at hillsdale.edu and I encourage all of you to read it in its entirety. Here is one paragraph of the speech. Remember, this was last April:

 

The number of police officers killed in shootings more than doubled during the first three months of 2016. In fact, officers are at much greater risk from blacks than unarmed blacks are from the police. Over the last decade, an officer’s chance of getting killed by a black has been 18.5 times higher than the chance of an unarmed black getting killed by a cop.

Again, please read the whole speech. I do not have permission to reprint it here, otherwise I would. More importantly, digest what MacDonald says. It is important that we understand the whole picture and not rely only on what is vomited out by largely biased news organizations.

 

Remember, I only send out these missives to those who have asked for them. I do not share your email addresses with anyone and I use the Reagan email precisely because they don’t share or sell the addresses either. If you are getting this because someone forwarded it to you and you don’t want it, tell him or her not to forward any more. On the other hand, if you received a copy and would like to see more of my ranting, simply drop me a line at coxnotes@Reagan.com I will put you on my exclusive, but growing list.

 

Bob

 

© Robert R. Cox 2016

 

Leave a Reply

