Thoughts from a former cop

December 22, 2014

By Bob Cox

Some opinions, comments and links relating to what is happening in this great nation and, in particular, in Western Colorado.

 

I had planned to sit down this morning and write about something joyous. I had planned to share some of my memories and feelings about the reason for the season. I truly wanted to approach Christmas with fun and laughter, and I probably will still, but it will be with a heavy heart.

I did not know Rafael Ramos. I have no first hand knowledge of who Wenjian Liu was. I only know them by what I read, but I know for sure that their deaths were unnecessary and that some important people lent to the atmosphere that led up to those deaths.

By now, all of you know that Rafael Ramos and Wenjian Liu were executed while sitting in a patrol car in New York City. They were not responding to a call. They were not taking a combative suspect into custody. They were not in a gunfight. They were simply sitting in their car on an overtime assignment in a precinct they normally would not have been in. They were killed because they were cops. They were killed because a radical group of people in this country stirred up sentiments that causes people like Ismaaiyl Brinsley, who was less than intelligent and likely suffering from some mental illness, to act on the fervor, thinking he is doing something important.

We all know that New York City Mayor Bill deBlasio is not directly responsible for these two deaths. We all know that Al Sharpton was not standing on that street watching a double assassination. We all know that President Barack Obama did not send Brinsley out to kill two police officers. We know that Eric Holder never met this deranged murderer, but we also know that the actions and rhetoric that came from these so-called leaders poisoned a susceptible mind with thoughts he probably never had before he watched protesters chant, “What do we want? Dead cops.”

I have all the respect in the world for former New York Mayor Rudy Giuliani, but I respectfully disagree with his statement that the group of New York City policemen that turned there backs in protest as Mayor deBlasio walked into a room should not have acted in that way. I disagree with Giuliani when he says the mayor should not step down. I think deBlasio should be literally thrown out of office. For God’s sake, if the reports are correct this morning, he has not even reached out to the families of those dead cops. He has time and time again shown that he is not pro-law enforcement. He needs to go.

I have the advantage (if that is the proper way of saying it) of having been both a law enforcement officer and a victim of crime. I am here to tell all of you that these killings have, and will, affect the way every police officer does his or her job. The anti-cop rhetoric has already caused agencies to adjust their protocol when it comes to responding to calls. It has already caused officers to hesitate before taking action. That hesitation alone will ultimately cost more lives, both of officers and of the citizens they are there to protect. Shame on those who have added to the problem and turned this into what it is.

May God bless those families who are now trying to understand and cope with going through the Christmas season without their loved ones. God bless them, because the Christmases of the future will from now on bring on the pain and suffering of that 2014 Christmas when two fathers were shot simply because they were police officers.

Remember, I only send out these missives to those who have asked for them. I do not share your email addresses with anyone and I use the Reagan email precisely because they don’t share or sell the addresses either. If you are getting this because someone forwarded it to you and you don’t want it, tell him or her not to forward any more. On the other hand, if you received a copy and would like to see more of my ranting, simply drop me a line at coxnotes@Reagan.com I will put you on my exclusive, but growing list.

Bob

© Robert R. Cox 2014

 

Leave a Reply

