Colorado needs a drastic change – Now

 

By Bob Cox

March 3, 2014

Some opinions, comments and links relating to what is happening in this great nation and, in particular, in Western Colorado.

 

Tomorrow marks the first in a series of very important dates for the state of Colorado.

 

I am a big supporter of the grass-roots method of precinct caucus but it only works if people participate. I also understand why some cannot participate directly because I have been in that situation more times than I like to think about.

 

When I worked for a Democrat sheriff whom I admired and supported, my support did not reach to the extent of becoming a Democrat and going to caucus to help the Republicans support someone to run against him made me uncomfortable. As the editor of a newspaper, I felt it improper for me to be directly involved in that part of the political process, but I never hesitated giving my opinions.

 

Now that has changed and I will be occupying one of the chairs at my precinct caucus. The people that know me also know that it will not be a chair of silence that supports my ample behind. They can plan on hearing my thoughts, and my thoughts on this election cycle are that Colorado needs some drastic change and it has to start happening during the caucuses.

 

I took the time, as I hope many did, to sit and listen to the Republican debate sponsored by the Colorado GOP on FOX 31 yesterday morning. Four of the five Republicans now vying for the gubernatorial race showed up for the debate. Tom Trancredo chose not to do so and consequently will not even get a “maybe” from me tomorrow night. The other four, Greg Brophy, Scott Gessler, Steve House and Mike Kopp did a nice job in my opinion of presenting their agendas to the public.

 

The one thing that impressed me the most was that all four of these gentlemen made it clear that they were running against Governor Hickenlooper. They all refrained from attacking each other and framed their comments and responses in the light of being a viable candidate that can defeat John Hickenlooper. That, in my mind, is the most important thing because that must happen before all the other ideas can be implemented.

 

Frankly, I can live with any of the four when compared to another four years of a disappointing statehouse agenda backed by Gov. Hickenlooper. I disagree with just about everything he has done in the past three years. I found myself almost applauding at my computer screen (I had to watch through a streaming video) when Mike Kopp referred to the Colorado gun control bills as “a disaster.” I also like the analogy he used when he said that Gov. Hickenlooper “picked at the scab.”

 

I have not settled on just which of these men will get my vote tomorrow night. What I have settled on is the fact that I will not sit in the background and watch when I can walk (or drive my big diesel pickup for that matter) to my local caucus and let them know what I think. I encourage each of you to do the same thing. If you cannot go, talk to someone who is going. Tell them how important it is that we start now in the long process of getting Colorado back on track. Then make a vow, just as all four of the candidates made yesterday, to support whomever the final candidate is. You may not agree with everything he has to say, but if you think like a conservative as I do, you will certainly agree that any one of these men is better than what we have now.

 

Stand up and say something!

 

Remember, I only send out these missives to those who have asked for them. I do not share your email addresses with anyone and I use the Reagan email precisely because they don’t share or sell the addresses either. If you are getting this because someone forwarded it to you and you don’t want it, tell him or her not to forward any more. On the other hand, if you received a copy and would like to see more of my ranting, simply drop me a line at coxnotes@Reagan.com I will put you on my exclusive, but growing list.

 

Bob

 

© Robert R. Cox 2014

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

